www.whyville.net Apr 19, 2009 Weekly Issue

Guest Writer

For The Catholics: The Seven Sacraments

Users' Rating
Rate this article

In the Gospel, we read about Jesus' life and actions of welcoming, healing, forgiving, and service to others. As Catholics, a special way we can carry out Jesus' ministry is through the seven sacraments. A sacrament is an effective sign given to us by Jesus and helps us to share in God's will.

The sacraments are:

1) Baptism
2) Confirmation
3) Eucharist
4) Reconciliation/Penance
5) Anointing of the Sick
6) Holy Orders
7) Matrimony

The sacraments listed above are broken into three categories according to their meaning.

The categories are:

1) Sacraments of Christian Initiation
2) Sacraments of Healing
3) Sacraments of Service

The Catholics believe that the sacraments were established in their religion to help them always recognize Jesus' presence in their life. We call God's life within us grace, which is God's gift to us.

Shall we begin, readers?

Sacraments of Christian Initiation: Baptism, Confirmation, and Eucharist

To initiate someone is to accept someone into an organization, or in this case, the Church.


Baptism is the first sacrament you must receive to become an official member of the Church. With Baptism, you are freed from original sin we inherit from Adam and Eve, the couple from the Story of Creation, and are welcomed into the church.


In Baptism, your parents decide that you will follow the Catholic religion. But, in Confirmation, you are grown and have the choice whether you want to continue following Catholicism or not. During Confirmation, you receive the Holy Spirit in a special way.


At the Last Supper, Catholics believe that Jesus turned the bread and wine into the Body and Blood of Christ. Through this sacrament, Jesus is truly present in us. Catholics gather at mass to receive the Body and Blood of Jesus Christ.

Sacraments of Healing: Reconciliation/Penance and Anointing of the Sick

In these sacraments, we are not healed physically, but spiritually.


Reconciliation is also recognized in some churches as Penance. Here, our friendship is restored with God and our sins are forgiven. You can think of our relationship with God as a rope that is tied securely at each end. Whenever we sin, the rope becomes limp and slowly brakes off. With the help of priests, God, the person at the other end of the rope, pulls us closer and fixes our rope.

Anointing of the Sick:

Usually, this sacrament is received by those who need spiritual healing or are getting ready to pass away. God's gifts of grace and comfort are given to those who are suffering from their illness or most commonly, old age.

Sacraments of Service: Holy Orders and Matrimony

Holy Orders:

This sacrament is received by men that are being ordained into the priesthood or also becoming deacons or bishops.


Matrimony is another word for marriage. Matrimony is the sacrament in which a man and a woman become husband and wife. They promise, in they eyes of God, that they will remain faithful to each other for the rest of their lives.

These are the sacraments that Catholics receive and celebrate.

Have a wonderful day!


"We live in preparation. We live for us. We live for each other. We live for God. This is the Catholic foundation."

Author's Note: There may be conflict in the BBS about the definition given on matrimony in this article. Fellow Whyvillians may support gay marriage when others do not. Please express your opinions openly and wisely. Remember to follow the guidelines of posting in the BBS. Respect everyone's opinion.


Did you like this article?
1 Star = Bleh.5 Stars = Props!
Rate it!
Ymail this article to a friend.
Discuss this article in the Forums.

  Back to front page